Regular Board Meeting

Monday, April 22, 2019  7:00 P.M.

Orfordville Village Hall-303 E. Beloit Street

Main Board Room




                President Gary Phillips called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.  Present were President Phillips, Chuck Boyce, Terry Gerber, Nikki Tuffree, and Jason Knox.  Also present were Tom TeBeest, Chief Brian Raupp, Karl Stuvengen, Nick Todd, and Clerk Sherri Waege.  Absent was Beth Schmidt.


                Clerk Waege verified that on April 18, 2019, copies of the agenda were provided to the Village President and Trustees; and posted at the Village Hall, Library, and the Farmers & Merchant’s Bank. There were no additions made to the agenda.


                Motion by Knox, seconded by Gerber to approve the April 8, 2019 Regular Board Meeting Minutes, April 16, 2019 Annual Organization Meeting Minutes, and April 16, 2019 Special Board Meeting Minutes.  Motion carried.






                Operator Licenses.  Motion by Knox, seconded by Gerber to accept the Police Committee’s recommendation to approve Operator Licenses to expire June 30, 2019 to Lori Francis, Erin Turner, and Sheena Wellnitz.  Motion carried.

                Operator License Denial.  Chief Raupp explained that the committee did not recommend approval for the application for Rex Hyde as the background check did not fit the criteria approved by the Village by Resolution.   No action was taken.   Clerk Waege will send a letter to recommend that Hyde reapply in one year.

                Storm Sewer Repair Project.   Tom TeBeest from Town & Country Engineering was present to explain the bids that were received for the Storm Sewer Repair Project along the railroad tracks, north of the Village Hall.   The low bid was $50,353.00 from E&N Hughes.   TeBeest further explained that the bid includes the repair of the storm sewer inlets at the intersection of N. Mowe and E. Spring Street (two inlets) and also the inlet at E. Spring and N. Center Street (one inlet).  TeBeest suggested that the board plan on additional 10% for contingencies for the project.   Discussion held on the cost of the project.  Clerk Waege explained that there is $24,393.00 budgeted for the repairs, and that there is an additional $13,355.00 at the state LGIP public works account.  Clerk Waege suggested that an additional $3,000.00 could be used from recycling.   The remaining $9,605.00 will have to be found in the budget in other categories.    Gerber explained that the project has to be done due to the sink holes.  Motion by Knox, seconded by Gerber to approve the bid from E&N Hughes for $50,353.00.   Motion carried.

                Resolution R-2019-04.  Motion by Gerber, seconded by Tuffree to amend Resolution R2019-04 to appoint Alexander Rucker to the Law Enforcement Disciplinary Committee.  Motion carried.

                Vacant Board Position.  Motion by Gerber, seconded by Tuffree to accept the appointment of Kratina Myers to fill the vacant position on the Village Board which expires in April 2020.  Roll Call Vote-Boyce, Gerber, Tuffree, and Knox-all YES,   President Phillips-ABSTAIN.  Motion carried.

                Personnel Policy.  Discussion held.  The policy will be reviewed again by the Temporary Personnel Committee for further review.  Motion by Boyce to table.   The motion died for a lack of a second.    No action was taken.


                Motion by Knox, seconded by Gerber to approve the vouchers for $69,250.67 (including $53,446.17 for the Department of Administration).  Motion carried.


                Motion by Knox, seconded by Gerber to adjourn at 7:25 p.m.   Motion carried.





                                                                                                                                                Submitted by,


                                                                                                                                                President Gary Phillips



                                                                                                                                                Sherri Waege

                                                                                                                                                Village Clerk



Sherri Waege